How the 7 Chakras Translate to Everyday Life

BY Ruby Gangadharan        July 28, 2016

There is a lot of mysticism and an overload of information when it comes to understanding the concept of ‘Chakras’ amongst the masses. You read about strange words, chants, color and sound associations. Meditation and breath healing also finds its way into the conversation.

But what are these Chakras? And how do they impact our everyday life?

Simply put, a Charka, which is the Sanskrit word for circle or wheel, is concentrated energy (a vortex) located in different parts of the body.

It is the non-physical energy or Prana (universal life force) that flows in our physical bodies. [I think of it as magnetic energy like lines that run across the body]. At certain points the non-physical energy lines criss-cross in large numbers; hence the energy concentration.

So, it’s kind of a big deal, and everyone has active chakras -- even if they don’t know it.

When most people talk about Chakras, they are referring to the 7 major Chakras. There are minor ones as well, but they aren’t as popular in write ups and are usually only studied by healers or yogis to strengthen their own skills.

Each Chakra has its own energy, governs certain functions in the human experience, and collectively they are all connected to source energy. And because the placement of these Chakras is in line with the Nervous system and the Endocrine system, they can be excellent indicators of the physical, mental, and emotional health of the person.

Chakras can be enhanced and purified for greater impact. Whatever tool or practice you use, strengthening the Charkas would result in boosting your energy to the next level. It will allow for you to experience clarity and give you a different lens to view the world.

Here’s a look at each of the 7 Chakras and what they mean for us:

In traditional wisdom, one would travel upward from the base of the spine (Muladhara Chakra) to the top of the head (Sahasrara Chakra), gaining mastery over the energies that each of the chakras represents, and eventually becoming one with source energy.

Om Tat Sat


Share this article:  

Ruby Gangadharan

Ruby Gangadharan is a student to the Yoga Sutras, Quantum and Spirituality geek, Life Coach, Deliberate Creator, blogger, Ashtanga Yoga Practitioner. You can connect with her on her Facebook page or her website.

Read more articles by this author


Popular Articles

Want to write for TUT?

Become a blog contributor!

Learn more!

TUT Writer’s Group
on Facebook

Connect with like-minded writers! Share ideas! Spark inspiration!

Click here!

Playing the Matrix shows you how to take
action on your dreams, so that you can start deliberately creating the life you want to live.